Australian Consulate-General
Phuket, Thailand

Notice to all Australians in Thailand


Please register your details with the Australian Embassy’s consular team by sending an email to [email protected] This will enable us to contact you should we become aware of any confirmed travel possibilities. Please include the following details:

Full name (for each individual)

Passport number (for each individual)


Date of Birth

Contact details (phone and email)

Citizen/ PR or other status

Current location in Thailand

Do you want to return to Australia?

If you haven’t already done so, please follow us on Facebook, Australia in Thailand for regular updates and review the Smartraveller website

Other information and FAQ’s

Please review the information below regarding the current Covid-19 situation in Australia and Thailand as many of the answers to your questions can be answered BEFORE contacting us.

Flights to Australia

If you wish to return to Australia, we encourage you to do so as soon as possible. Qatar Airways remains the only airline with regular connecting flights to Australia via Doha

The Embassy continues to look for other options for Australians in Thailand to return to Australia. Details of any confirmed travel options will be provided via our Facebook page  

Quarantine on arrival in Australia

Everyone arriving in Australia must undertake a mandatory 14-day quarantine at designated facilities (for example, a hotel), at their port/city of arrival, regardless of final destination.

Please review the Australian Government website;, for all the Government’s information on COVID-19 including the additional health measures in place.

Below is a summary of quarantine and self-isolation requirements for each state. Please note that this information is subject to change.

New South Wales, Victoria and Australian Capital Territory:

There are no restrictions on travelling interstate to the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales or Victoria.  You can travel to any of these states without needing to complete additional quarantine.

The Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Western Australia have imposed additional restrictions on interstate travel within Australia.

Northern Territory:

Non-essential travellers must complete 14-day quarantine (and pay for it themselves).  This applies even if they have arrived from overseas and completed 14-day quarantine in another port of entry.

For more information, see


A person entering Queensland will need to be eligible to enter and have a Queensland entry pass.  Check your eligibility at and apply for a pass at

When entering Queensland, you only need to complete 14-day self-isolation if you have come from a designated hot spot.  See the list of hot spots at

Some NSW quarantine venues are located in designated hot spots.  However, if you show evidence (documentation from an interstate health authority) that they have completed quarantine in the COVID-19 hotspot then they may (depending on the evidence) not need to undertake an additional 14 days’ isolation upon entry into Queensland.

This exemption is not available for people working in agribusiness or as a commercial fishing employee or contractor.  People in this category have to self-isolate for 14 days after entering Queensland.

For more information, see

South Australia

Non-essential travellers can enter South Australia but must self-quarantine for 14 days.  This also applies to people travelling to South Australia who have just completed mandatory quarantine after returning to Australia.  You can request an exemption to South Australia’s 14-day self-quarantine period, but we understand these are not commonly granted.

For more information, see


Non-essential travellers must complete 14-day quarantine.  This applies even if you have just arrived from overseas and completed quarantine in another port of entry.

For more information, see

Western Australia

You cannot enter Western Australia unless an exemption has been granted.  See the exemption categories and how to apply for an exemption at


Entering Australia

From 9pm AEDT 20 March 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia. For further information go to

Thai Visa Extensions
The Thai Government has extended all visa types for foreigners until 31 July, as long as the visa was valid on 26 March 2020. Given this the Embassy will not issue letters to support visa extension requests. If you have any questions regarding this the visa extension process or your own visa circumstances, please direct them to Thai Immigration authorities; Hotline 1178 or

Thai Government Emergency Decree

The Thai Government has announced a State of Emergency on 26 March 2020. The emergency decree has been extended until 31 May 2020, including a nationwide curfew between 10pm and 4am.

You should carry identification with you at all times and expect to be asked where you are going and why at various checkpoints. Please be aware that many provinces have their own restrictions which could affect your travel within Thailand.

If you have questions regarding any impact COVID-19 may have on your travel, please contact your airline/travel provider for advice or consult the following websites.

Travel to Australia:  please refer to latest updates on Australia’s entry restrictions

Travel to Thailand: please refer to latest updates from Thai authority (Department of Disease Control)

Australian Government’s Travel advice for Thailand

Australian Government’s COVID-19 Travel Advice

Click here for information Australian Passports    Click here for information on Notarial Services

We do not take enquiries about Australian visas.  Visas for travel to Australia are handled through the Australian Embassy Bangkok.


ANZAC Day 2020 in Phuket

It is with great regret that we must advise ANZAC Day commemorations organised by the Australian Consulate-General in Phuket will be cancelled this year due to the ongoing global COVID-19 health situation. More

Consular Notarial Services Update

As of 7 January 2019, the Consulate-General will no longer witness statutory declarations that declare income or bank balances for Thai Immigration purposes. More

Consular services to Canadian Citizens

Commencing in September 2018, by agreement between Governments of Canada and Australia, the Australian Consulate-General is authorised to provide Canadian citizens with certain consular services. More

Visit to Phuket by Australian Foreign Minister

The Hon Julie Bishop MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs, visited Phuket on 4 August 2017 to officially open the Consulate-General  More

Phuket Top 10 Tips